DIVE! When you suck at blogging, blog more

18 Jun

So I’ve come to a realization about myself. I suck at blogging. Really—it seems hard to come up with one smart thing to say each month (how do you bloggers do it?), and I use the word “smart” loosely. So what does one do when one sucks at blogging?

I bet you didn’t guess start a new blog.

But that’s what I’m doing. In addition to my role on this blog as one of the 4 Chicks (‘cause I’m not going anywhere!), I’ve started a blog on my own website. Diving into new waters, as it were. And that one I need to really keep up with, since I don’t have 3 other friends to cover for me do the dirty work post in my absence. I can’t guarantee it’ll be earth-shattering posts every time, but I’ll try to say more than um…um…

Although that may very well be part of it.

Vivi crazy

My usual expression

Seriously, though, I know I’m not the only one out there who is pulled in a million different directions every day. The problem is that I love every one of those directions, be it hanging out with family, writing, revising, working. I just never seem to have the time to devote one hundred percent to each one. I mean, unless you’re a Twilight vampire (and if you are, bite me—literally), who does? That’s why I posted a picture of me pulling my hair out, because I seem to do that more often than not.

My sister-in-law recently told me something that stuck with me – give 100% of yourself to whatever you’ve got scheduled at any given time, and not worry about the other items on the list. For example, when working, don’t think about the revisions sitting on your desktop. When with your family (and this one has become much more important to me), don’t think about the work you have to do later. This has actually helped me become a little more focused, and I’ve been able to accomplish more. It didn’t hurt that my son gave me an acrostic poem for Mother’s Day and my computer/writing was listed at least three times (and more than any other theme). So yeah…Momma needs a new attitude.

As for my blog post – it’s on www.vivibarnes.com, and I’m giving away something related to my upcoming debut novel, OLIVIA TWISTED. So come on over and dive in! And leave a comment below if you have any tips to share on how you balance everything OR suggestions for what I can talk about on my new blog. Because anything is better than um…um…

Have a great week!

8 Responses to “DIVE! When you suck at blogging, blog more”

  1. pursuingthemuse June 18, 2013 at 1:14 am #

    Glad to see you diving in to your new blog and website!

    • ticklingthemuse June 18, 2013 at 10:13 am #

      Thank you! Hope I don’t hit my head on the bottom of the pool! I can never get tired of power word analogies, LOL!

  2. suzie81 June 18, 2013 at 4:24 am #

    I have similar issues and feel I am pulled all over the place when it comes to blogging. I just write what is in my head at the time… I like blogs that don’t just focus on a single subject.

    • ticklingthemuse June 18, 2013 at 4:35 pm #

      Good advice – I am all over the place anyway. May as well blog that way! 😉

  3. gwenpetersonchoate June 18, 2013 at 9:28 am #

    Congratulations! Interestingly, I have made the same resolution. You’re looking good at what you’ve done here. gc, Patti’s friend > WordPress.com > ticklingthemuse posted: “So I’ve come to a realization about myself. I > suck at blogging. Really—it seems hard to come up with one smart thing > to say each month (how do you bloggers do it?), and I use the word > “smart” loosely. So what does one do when one sucks at blogging? I b” >

    • ticklingthemuse June 18, 2013 at 10:13 am #

      Thanks Gwen! Sometimes you just gotta call it what it is! 😉 Good luck with yours!

  4. Christy June 18, 2013 at 1:03 pm #

    Congratulations on your new blog! I’m excited to start following. I like the idea of giving 100% to wherever you’re at. Except I read this standing in the return line at Walmart! haha I decided to give 100 percent attention to your blog post instead 🙂 Congrats again!

    • ticklingthemuse June 18, 2013 at 4:36 pm #

      Aw, thanks Christy! And ew for Walmart.

Leave a Reply

