Cure for the afflicted?

7 Apr

It’s a problem that affects thousands of people each day. It’s something that isn’t frequently talked about in “proper” circles, nor is it something that can be easily cured with a doctor’s visit. It is a constant, throbbing reminder to us that we may fail and never recover. Relief from this affliction is so near that it’s almost within our grasp, yet it slips away each time we stretch out our minds for it.

It is…Writer’s Block.

I sadly find myself suffering from this condition in of all things – this blog. I sat down a few nights ago to write my next blog entry, thinking that just by sitting at the computer and opening up Word, my fingers would magically type out a fantastic post. Obviously this should happen, since I am way overdue on submitting a post but have been writing practically every night on a new novel with no roadblocks.  So it shouldn’t be too hard to come up with something to blog about.

Wrong.

Of all the things I am working on right now, blogging seems to be the most challenging.  I enjoy reading my fellow Chicks’ posts; however, each one is a reminder to me that I need to submit an article as profound as Eva’s, as poignant as Peggy’s, and as inventive as Tracey’s.

Ain’t happenin’ tonight, though, so I thought I would post about what is keeping me from posting. Maybe by posting this article, I will finally find some relief from this affliction.

Any fellow blocked artists care to share your experience on how you got “unblocked?” Only in the mental sense, of course!

2 Responses to “Cure for the afflicted?”

  1. mary beth April 7, 2011 at 6:42 pm #

    tracey and I were talking about the scurge of the writer’s block…I find sometimes angst gets my pen to writing, maybe the perverbial pen is mightier than the sword is the way my inner editor works? wishing you some flowing thoughts very soon! mb

  2. followingthemuse April 8, 2011 at 1:43 pm #

    Just start writing — set aside a spot, grab a pencil and a pad and start writing…anything that pops into your mind. And slowly you’ll begin deliberating, confessing, rejoicing, complaining, creating, planning, exploring, discovering, dreaming…on paper. Aha! Step One.

Leave a Reply

